Skip to main content

Business 249: Entrepreneurship (Rubin): Cuesta Library Search

Exploring Cuesta Library Search

Cuesta Library Search makes it easy to find books, journal and magazine articles, eBooks, videos and even streaming media from a single search box, with one list of results and options for refining them. This single search system contains Cuesta databases for books, journal and magazine articles, newspaper articles and videos.

Go to the Cuesta Library Search box on myCuesta or the Library home page, type in any keyword or phrase and choose the Search icon or Enter key on your keyboard. For best results, do not change the default Library that is checked (Libraries Worldwide).

Each entry on your results list includes the title, author, date, and type of source. Items found through Cuesta come up before other holdings.

The left panel allows you to refine and narrow your search results by content, format, year, etc. Use these options to find Peer Reviewed and Full Text content, and items in different formats. Only the top 6 formats show. Click on See All to find more specific types of content, such as eBooks, encyclopedia articles or Dissertations.

The first page of results may show some articles or eVideos which are part of the Cuesta streaming collection. Note the View Online tab at the bottom of the entry. All results with a View Online tab are instantly available in full text from the Library’s online resources. These include full text articles, videos and eBooks.

Look at any entry that says Print book. At the bottom of the entry, instead of the View Online icon, you get the location, call number, and availability of the print book in the Cuesta library system. Any item with this information instead of the View Online link can be found in the Cuesta Library collection. Write down the call number to retrieve it from the library shelves.

Look for any entry that says Article. Click on the View Online button. It takes you to the full text article and shows you the database you are accessing (i.e. Academic Search Premier). You will need to know the database to cite your sources later on.

Spend some time exploring the Cuesta Library Search system. It is the most efficient way to find scholarly sources for your research needs, and will save you time.

 

Need a Book from Another Library?

See how to order a book from a different Cuesta campus:

See how to order a book from a different library system:

Business Source Elite database

Business Source Elite
Limit Your Results