Skip to main content

College Success Studies 225: Cuesta Library Search

Tips for Using Cuesta Library Search

  • Use ti=(title) to find a specific title quickly.
  • Use au=(author's name) to find works by a specific author.
  • Use the Advanced Search option under the search box to find some database clusters for specific courses, such as Nursing and Business. You can also find a complete list of databases used in the Cuesta Library Search system.
  • On the top banner you can see the number of results. If you have too many, or they are too general, use the left column options/limiters and different keywords and phrases to narrow your topic.
  • Phrase Searching is an effective way to use the Cuesta Library Search. Enclose your keyword phrase in quotation marks. This constrains the database to return results using that phrase, not just the individual words in the phrase. You get more focused results.
  • You can limit your results to a specific campus, date and type of material.
  • You can only change one option/limiter at a time. Each one you choose will focus your results even more. If you change your search terms in any way, you have to choose the options again.      


 

Exploring Cuesta Library Search

Cuesta Library Search makes it easy to find books, journal and magazine articles, eBooks, videos and even streaming media from a single search box, with one list of results and options for refining them.

Go to the Cuesta Library Search box on myCuesta or the Library home page, type in any keyword or phrase and choose the Search icon or Enter key on your keyboard. For best results, do not change the default Library that is checked (Libraries Worldwide).

Each entry on your results list includes the title, author, date, and type of source. Items found through Cuesta come up before other holdings.

The left panel allows you to refine and narrow your search results by content, format, year, etc. Use these options to find Peer Reviewed and Full Text content, and items in different formats. Only the top 6 formats show. Click on See All to find more specific types of content, such as eBooks, encyclopedia articles or Dissertations.

The first page of results may show some articles or eVideos which are part of the Cuesta streaming collection. Note the View Online tab at the bottom of the entry. All results with a View Online tab are instantly available in full text from the Library’s online resources. These include full text articles, videos and eBooks.

Look at any entry that says Print book. At the bottom of the entry, instead of the View Online icon, you get the location, call number, and availability of the print book in the Cuesta library system. Any item with this information instead of the View Online link can be found in the Cuesta Library collection. Write down the call number to retrieve it from the library shelves.

Look for any entry that says Article. Click on the View Online button. It takes you to the full text article and shows you the database you are accessing (i.e. Academic Search Premier). You will need to know the database to cite your sources later on.

Spend some time exploring the Cuesta Library Search system. It is the most efficient way to find scholarly sources for your research needs, and will save you time.