Skip to main content

History 207B: History of the U.S. (Highhouse): Cuesta Library Search

Exploring Cuesta Library Search

Cuesta Library Search makes it easy to find books, journal and magazine articles, eBooks, videos and even streaming media from a single search box, with one list of results and options for refining them.

Go to the Cuesta Library Search box on myCuesta or the Library home page, type in any keyword or phrase and choose the Search icon or Enter key on your keyboard. For best results, do not change the default Library that is checked (Libraries Worldwide).

Each entry on your results list includes the title, author, date, and type of source. Items found through Cuesta come up before other holdings.

The left panel allows you to refine and narrow your search results by content, format, year, etc. Use these options to find Peer Reviewed and Full Text content, and items in different formats. Only the top 6 formats show. Click on See All to find more specific types of content, such as eBooks, encyclopedia articles or Dissertations.

The first page of results may show some articles or eVideos which are part of the Cuesta streaming collection. Note the Access Online tab at the bottom of the entry. All results with a Access Online tab are instantly available in full text from the Library’s online resources. These include full text articles, videos and eBooks.

Look at any entry that says Print book. At the bottom of the entry, instead of the Access Online icon, you get the location, call number, and availability of the print book in the Cuesta library system. Any item with this information instead of the Access Online link can be found in the Cuesta Library collection. Write down the call number to retrieve it from the library shelves.

Look for any entry that says Article. Click on the Access Online button. It takes you to the full text article and shows you the database you are accessing (i.e. Academic Search Premier). You will need to know the database to cite your sources later on.

 

 

Search Tips

  • Phrase search for articles by putting quotation marks around phrases (i.e., "Civil Rights Act")
  • Search for multiple keywords using the operator AND (i.e. "internment camps" AND Japanese)
  • Search for books, films, and/or articles by subject or person

Primary vs. Secondary Sources

A Primary source of information is first-person, original information. Examples:

  • a journal or diary
  • original research
  • interview
  • letter
  • speech
  • original work of art
  • government document
  • research article from a variety of databases and web sites

A Secondary source of information is material that has been taken from primary sources and then synthesized. Examples:

  • college textbook
  • biography
  • criticism
  • historical study
  • journal or magazine article that reviews original works

Credo Reference: American History

Credo Logo


Search online reference books related to American History.