Skip to main content

Journalism 201A: News Writing and Reporting (Wilson): National Background

This guide is for Instructor Wilson's Journalism 201A class. It covers finding local and national information, as well as finding information at Cuesta.

Getting Started

For national background, it would be useful to look at statistics. The U.S. Census Bureau has a ton of statistical information, as does the Statistical Abstract of the U.S. You can also search Cuesta Library Search, which gives you access to newspaper articles, or look for credible sources on the Internet.

U.S. Census Bureau

Statistical Abstract of the U.S.

The Statistical Abstract of the U.S. has been published annually since 1878. It includes statistics on the social, economic, and political organization of the U.S.

Internet Sources

You may be able to find valuable information on the web. Look for information from credible sources - these often end with .gov or .edu.

Note: PBS is a good source for many social issues.

News

Accessing Cuesta Library Search

The two ways to access the Cuesta Library Search and other Library resources are from the Library home page or the Library channel in myCuesta. Once you log into myCuesta, choose the Resources tab to get to the Library channel.

From the Library page and myCuesta Library channel you can quickly link to:

  • Cuesta Library Search
  • Specialized Databases, including NewsBank, which indexes the SLO Tribune 
  • Reserve Textbooks for current classes
  • Research Assistance, for Subject Guides and Citation help

Exploring Cuesta Library Search

Cuesta Library Search makes it easy to find books, journal and magazine articles, eBooks, videos and streaming media from a single search box, with one list of results and options for refining them.

Getting Started

  • Go to the Cuesta Library Search box on the Library home page or myCuesta (under Resources tab)
  • Type in any keyword or phrase and choose the Search icon or Enter key on your keyboard
  • For best results, do not change the default Library that is checked (Libraries Worldwide)

Understanding Your Results

  • Each entry on your results list includes the title, author, date, and type of source
  • Items found through Cuesta come up before other holdings

Narrowing Your Results

  • The left panel allows you to refine and narrow your search results by content, format, year, etc.
  • Use these options to find Peer Reviewed and Full Text content, and items in different formats
  • Only the top 6 formats show
  • Click on See All to find more specific types of content, such as eBooks, encyclopedia articles or dissertations.

Electronic Resources

  • The first page of results may show some articles or eVideos which are part of the Cuesta streaming collection
  • Note the Access Online button at the bottom of the entry.
  • All results with an Access Online button are instantly available in full text from the Library’s online resources
  • These include full text articles, videos and eBooks.

For any entry that says Print book

  • At the bottom of the entry, you get the location, call number, and availability of the print book in the Cuesta library system (SLO or NCC)
  • Write down the call number to retrieve it from the library shelves

For any entry that says Article

  • Click on the Access Online button
  • It takes you to the full text article
  • You may need to click on the Full Text button on the left-hand side of the screen if the full text article does not appear immediately