Skip to main content

Health Education 208: Multicultural Health: Cuesta Library Search

Exploring Cuesta Library Search

Cuesta Library Search makes it easy to find books, journal and magazine articles, eBooks, videos and streaming media from a single search box, with one list of results and options for refining them.

Getting Started

  • Go to the Cuesta Library Search box on the Library Home Page or myCuesta (under Resources tab)
  • Type in any keyword or phrase and choose the Search icon or Enter key on your keyboard
  • For best results, do not change the default Library that is checked (Libraries Worldwide)

Understanding Your Results

  • Each entry on your results list includes the title, author, date, and type of source
  • Items found through Cuesta come up before other holdings

Narrowing Your Results

  • The left panel allows you to refine and narrow your search results by content, format, year, etc.
  • Use these options to find Peer Reviewed and Full Text content, and items in different formats
  • Only the top 6 formats show
  • Click on See All to find more specific types of content, such as eBooks, encyclopedia articles or dissertations.

Electronic Resources

  • The first page of results may show some articles or eVideos which are part of the Cuesta streaming collection
  • Note the View Now button at the bottom of the entry.
  • All results with an View Now button are instantly available in full text from the Library’s online resources
  • These include full text articles, videos and eBooks.

For any entry that says Print book

  • At the bottom of the entry, you get the location, call number, and availability of the print book in the Cuesta library system (SLO or NCC)
  • Write down the call number to retrieve it from the library shelves

For any entry that says Article

  • Click on the View Full Text button
  • It takes you to the full text article
  • You may need to click on the Full Text button on the left-hand side of the screen if the full text article does not appear immediately


Transcultural Health Care Books

The following books will be very useful for this class. Some of the topics covered are: overview (reasons for migration, educational status), family roles, diseases/health conditions, communication, nutrition, high-risk behaviors, pregnancy/childbearing, death rituals, spirituality, health-care practices, and health-care providers.

Click on the links to view the eBooks, or use the call numbers to find the books in the library.

Note: These are different editions of the same book, but cover some different cultural groups.

Books on Multicultural Food

Reference Books @ the Library

Need a Book from Another Library?

See how to order a book from a different Cuesta campus:

See how to order a book from a different library system: