Library Guides: ENVS 200: Find Sources

Where to Search for Popular and Scholarly Sources

Find Popular Sources
Find Scholarly Sources

You can find environmental science-related topics in popular sources like magazines, newspapers, trade publications, and more! Popular sources inform and/or entertain a general (non-expert) audience. You can also find them in scholarly (peer-reviewed) articles! Use the library's OneSearch catalog and databases to find scholarly sources. Use the tabs in this box to explore popular and scholarly places to find scientific articles.

Popular News

Associated Press - Science
The Associated Press is an American non-profit news agency headquartered in New York City. Founded in 1846, it operates as a cooperative, unincorporated association.
Reuters Science
Reuters, the news and media division of Thomson Reuters, is the world’s largest multimedia news provider, reaching billions of people worldwide every day. Reuters provides business, financial, national and international news to professionals via desktop terminals, the world's media organizations, industry events and directly to consumers.
NPR Science
Top stories in the U.S. and world news, politics, health, science, business, music, arts and culture. Nonprofit journalism with a mission.
NPR Climate
Top stories in the U.S. and world news, politics, health, science, business, music, arts and culture. Nonprofit journalism with a mission.
PBS News Hour Science
PBS NewsHour is the primary daily, breaking and special news producer for PBS. It produces PBS NewsHour, PBS News Weekend, and Washington Week, as well as has a robust footprint across digital and social platforms.

Popular Magazines and Trade Publications

Newsweek
Newsweek provides in-depth analysis, news and opinion about international issues, technology, business, culture and politics.
Stanford Earth Matters
Stanford Earth Matters magazine is an online resource that curates the latest knowledge and ideas for people who care about the future of Earth, its resources and its environment.
Yale Environment 360
Yale Environment 360 is an American online magazine focused on environmental journalism. It includes original reporting, analysis, interviews, and multimedia content. Yale Environment 360 is published by the Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies at Yale University but is editorially independent.
Science News
Science News, abbreviated on its website as Sci News, is an American bi-weekly magazine devoted to short articles about new scientific and technical developments, typically gleaned from recent scientific and technical journals.
Scientific American
Scientific American, informally abbreviated SciAm or sometimes SA, is an American popular science magazine. Many famous scientists, including Albert Einstein, have contributed articles to it.
National Geographic
National Geographic is a popular American monthly magazine published by the National Geographic Society.
Smithsonian
Smithsonian is the official journal published by the Smithsonian Institution in Washington, D.C.
Wired
Wired is a monthly American magazine, published in print and online editions, that focuses on how emerging technologies affect culture, the economy, and politics.

Organizations

PLOS One This link opens in a new window
PLOS ONE features reports of original research from all disciplines within science and medicine. By not excluding research on the basis of subject area, PLOS ONE facilitates the discovery of connections between research whether within or between disciplines.
GREENFile This link opens in a new window
This free research database provides scholarly, government and general-interest sources covering the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and governments and what can be done at each level to minimize negative impacts.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text for over 3,100 peer-reviewed journals in social sciences, humanities, and STEM research

How to Find Articles in Cuesta Library's OneSearch Catalog & Databases

Search Strategies, Tips, and Handouts

Evaluation Tips (handout)
This handout contains helpful tips and strategies for evaluating the credibility and quality of information sources you find on the general web. You're more likely to come across unreliable information through general web searching (like Google) than in the library's OneSearch catalog and databases. General web searching can be useful, however, you have to be even more vigilant about the trustworthiness of the information you find!
How to Identify a Scholarly, Peer-Reviewed Journal Article (handout)
This handout provides tips and strategies for identifying and reading scholarly, peer-reviewed journal articles.
Search Strategies: Boolean Operators, Phrasing Searching, Nesting, Truncation, and Wildcard (handout)
This handout describes tips and strategies for precision searching which will help you to locate the most useful information!
Types of Articles (handout)
Review this handout to learn about the different types of information sources you'll find in Cuesta Library's OneSearch catalog and databases.