Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Centaurs: Topic Page
In Greek mythology, a creature half human and half horse, wild and lawless. Chiron, the mentor of the hero Heracles and tutor of the god of medicine Asclepius, was an exception. Their home was said to be on Mount Pelion, Thessaly.
From Chambers Dictionary of the Unexplained
Supernatural beings of Arabic folklore and Islamic tradition, spirits of fire whose favorite abode is the desert.
Dragons: Topic Page
Mythical reptilian beast, often portrayed with wings and breathing fire.
Elves: Topic Page
A race of supernatural beings in Germanic and Norse folklore. In Britain, over the centuries, they came to be almost synonymous with the diminutive fairies of native British folklore, until J.R.R. Tolkien’s depiction of them in Lord of the Rings helped to restore a concept of them which was much closer to the original Germanic one.
Fairy: Topic Page
In folklore, one of a variety of supernatural beings endowed with the powers of magic and enchantment.
In folklore, a small, mischievous spirit of the earth or mountain. The males are bearded, wear tunics and hoods, and often conceal treasure in their underground dwellings.
Goblin: Topic Page
A general term for a small, dark, ugly and mischievous or evil fairy.
Golem: Topic Page
In Jewish folklore, a figure of a human being brought to life by supernatural means.
Griffins: Topic Page
Mythical monster, the supposed guardian of hidden treasure, with the body, tail, and hind legs of a lion, and the head, forelegs, and wings of an eagle, though in classical times all four legs were those of a lion.
Hydra: Topic Page
A mythic water snake inhabiting the marshes of Lerna, south of Argos in Greece.
Imp: Topic Page
A small demonic spirit, thought to be mischievous rather than genuinely evil.
A fabulous sea monster supposedly seen off the coast of Norway and probably based on the sighting of a gigantic cuttlefish. It was first described by Pontoppidan in his History of Norway (1752). It was said to be capable of dragging down the largest ships and when submerging to suck down a vessel by the whirlpool it created.
Leviathan: Topic Page
The name of a monster of the waters, any huge sea creature or large ship.
Minotaur: Topic Page
A mythical monster with the head of a bull and the body of a man, born of Pasiphae, the wife of Minos, and the white bull that Poseidon sent to Minos.
Mermaids: Topic Page
A mythical sea-creature with the upper body of a woman and the tail of a fish.
Pegasus: Topic Page
Pegasus (Pegasos, 'water-spirit'), in Greek myth, was the winged stallion which grew from the blood spurting from Medusa's neck after she was beheaded by Perseus.
Sirens: Topic Page
One of the mythical monsters, half-woman and half-bird, said by Greek poets to entice seamen by the sweetness of their song to such a degree that the listeners forgot all and died of hunger.
Sphinx: Topic Page
Mythological creature, depicted in Egyptian, Assyrian, and Greek art as a lion with a human head.
Thunderbird: Topic Page
The name given to a famous mythical bird and also to allegedly real-life counterparts spied in the skies over North America.
From The Macmillan Encyclopedia
In Scandinavian folklore, originally a gigantic ogre-like creature imagined as guarding treasure, inhabiting a castle, and stalking through the forest only at night since they are destroyed or turned to stone if they see the sun.
Unicorns: Topic Page
A fabulous beast resembling a horse, but with one long spiral horn growing from its forehead; often used as a symbol of strength and purity and in heraldry. Travelers throughout the centuries have made claims of sightings of the fabulous unicorn and have given conflicting descriptions of this beast. There have been accounts of unicorns in China, Mongolia, the Middle East, Egypt, North Africa, India, Japan, Europe and America.
Vampires: Topic Page
In contemporary popular culture, vampires are fictitious immortal creatures of the night who sustain themselves by drinking the blood of the living. These undead creatures might be the unsettled souls of criminals or suicide victims. They may have been victims of other vampires, as those who are attacked by vampires are fated to become vampires themselves.
Werewolves: Topic Page
A 'man-wolf' (Old English wer, 'man'), i.e. a man who, according to ancient superstition, was turned, or could at will turn himself, into a wolf (the loupgarou of France). It had the appetite of a wolf and roamed about at night devouring infants and sometimes exhuming corpses. Its skin was proof against shot or steel, unless the weapon had been blessed in a chapel dedicated to Saint Hubert.
Electronic Reference Books
Encyclopedia of Literary and Cinematic Monsters
From vampires and demons to ghosts and zombies, interest in monsters in literature, film, and popular culture has never been stronger. This concise Encyclopedia provides scholars and students with a comprehensive and authoritative A-Z of monsters throughout the ages. It is the first major reference book on monsters for the scholarly market.
The Werewolf Book: The Encyclopedia of Shape-Shifting Beings
Covering 140,000 years of legend, mythology, and fact, The Werewolf Book provides hair-raising evidence of strange and obsessional behavior through the centuries. Learn the basics of becoming a werewolf and the intricacies of slaying the beast.
Chambers Dictionary of the Unexplained
Covering everything from cryptozoology and the Yeti to witchcraft, earth mysteries, folklore, ghosts, human oddities, the occult, parapsychology, spiritualism, and UFOs, a comprehensive resource looks a wide range of unexplained phenomena in a volume containing objective, informative, and up-to-date entries.
Pocket Guides: Myths & Legends
Myths and legends, with their fantastical settings and parade of exotic creatures and beautiful immortals, have inspired some of the most popular works in the National Gallery Collection. The latest addition to the best-selling Pocket Guides series leads the modern viewer through this important aspect of Western art.
Encyclopedia of Urban Legends
This exhaustive and compellingly readable reference work offers alphabetical entries on every aspect of the subject, including descriptions of hundreds of individual legends and their variations, legend themes, and scholarly approaches to the genre.