Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Searching Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a option for finding scholarly sources. Anything that shows HTML or PDF on the right of the entry is usually a full text article.
Useful Web Sites
Fordham University: Full Text Sources
Access links to full text books on various history topics.
The Avalon Project
Thanks to Yale Law School's Law Library, you can browse documents by time period.
De Re Militari: the society for Medieval military history
Find articles, primary sources, dissertations, and other resources related to the study of the military during Medieval times.
Falcone Library: finding primary sources
This guide has links to many online databases by place, time period, or subject.
Hanover Historical Texts Collection
Search digital versions of historical texts from ancient and medieval Europe.
Search this large collection of digitized books from academic and research libraries.
Choose from over 49,000 free eBooks, including biographies.
Discover articles and eBooks. Be sure to check the box that limits results to "Only content I have full access to."
UC San Diego: guide to online primary sources: Medieval
Choose from a list of links that provide access to primary sources from Medieval Europe.
Discover primary documents from European History.
Europeana Collections provides access to over 50 million digitised items – books, music, artworks and more – with sophisticated search and filter tools to help you find what you’re looking for.
World History Encyclopedia
The largest and most popular history encyclopedia on the Internet. Formerly named Ancient History Encyclopedia.
You can try searching Google for primary sources. For example, you might do a search for "black death primary sources." Give it a try.