Library Guides: Psychology: Specialized Databases

Psychology Databases

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Database providing access to published work in the behavioral and social sciences from the authority in psychology.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Full-text, peer-reviewed articles published by the American Psychological Association and affiliated journals.

Tips for Using PsycINFO & PsycARTICLES

Use each database separately. If you don’t, you won’t get all the books from PsycInfo. Each database has slightly different limiters
Use full text, date and peer review limiters
Check any specific Source Type (articles, books, etc)
Choose drop-down lists for Publication (you can choose specific journals) Classification and Methodology (“empirical study”) to find other useful ways to narrow your search
PsycArticles is scholarly articles only
PsycINFO has books, dissertations, etc

Credo Reference

General Reference

Big Ideas Simply Explained: The Psychology Book
Clearly explaining more than 100 groundbreaking ideas in the field, The Psychology Book uses accessible text and easy-to-follow graphics and illustrations to explain the complex theoretical and experimental foundations of psychology.
Biographical Dictionary of Psychology by Noel Sheehy, Antony J. Chapman, and Wendy Conroy
Provides biographical information and critical analysis of the influences and reception of people who have made a significant contribution to the field of psychology.
Elsevier's Dictionary of Psychological Theories by J. Roeckelein
The dictionary contains terms covering the origination, development, and evolution of various psychological concepts, as well as the historical definition, analysis, and criticisms of psychological concepts.
Encyclopaedic Dictionary of Psychology by Graham Davey
Presents entries grouped into 8 thematic topic areas, and on a range of levels from brief definitions to more substantial discussions which allow the reader to obtain a fuller grasp of important terms and concepts.
Encyclopedia of Applied Psychology by Charles Spielberger
An authoritative publication that reviews and evaluates the numerous applications of professional psychology.
Key Concepts in Health Psychology
Aims to provide the reader with a comprehensive understanding of the key issues, theories, models, and methods in contemporary health psychology.
Key Thinkers in Psychology by Rom Harré
Contributes to understanding the classic scholars, the classic studies, and the subsequent generations of people and ideas that have come to define the broad discipline that is psychology.
The Concise Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science by W. Edward Craighead and Charles B. Nemeroff
Provides comprehensive coverage of all aspects of psychology, from Acquired Drives to Z-score, from conduct disorders to shamanism.
The Penguin Dictionary of Psychology by Arthur S. Reber, Rhianon Allen and Emily S. Reber
This updated edition explores the latest developments in psychology, psychiatry and related fields, including new material on neuroscience and social psychology.