Skip to main content

History 203A & History 204A: History of World Civilization/History of Western Civilization (Highhouse): Cuesta Library Search

Exploring Cuesta Library Search

Cuesta Library Search makes it easy to find books, journal and magazine articles, eBooks, videos and streaming media from a single search box, with one list of results and options for refining them.

Getting Started

  • Go to the Cuesta Library Search box on the Library home page or myCuesta (under Resources tab)
  • Type in any keyword or phrase and choose the Search icon or Enter key on your keyboard
  • For best results, do not change the default Library that is checked (Libraries Worldwide)

Understanding Your Results

  • Each entry on your results list includes the title, author, date, and type of source
  • Items found through Cuesta come up before other holdings

Narrowing Your Results

  • The left panel allows you to refine and narrow your search results by content, format, year, etc.
  • Use these options to find Peer Reviewed and Full Text content, and items in different formats
  • Only the top 6 formats show
  • Click on See All to find more specific types of content, such as eBooks, encyclopedia articles or dissertations.

Electronic Resources

  • The first page of results may show some articles or eVideos which are part of the Cuesta streaming collection
  • Note the Access Online button at the bottom of the entry.
  • All results with an Access Online button are instantly available in full text from the Library’s online resources
  • These include full text articles, videos and eBooks.

For any entry that says Print book

  • At the bottom of the entry, you get the location, call number, and availability of the print book in the Cuesta library system (SLO or NCC)
  • Write down the call number to retrieve it from the library shelves

For any entry that says Article

  • Click on the Access Online button
  • It takes you to the full text article
  • You may need to click on the Full Text button on the left-hand side of the screen if the full text article does not appear immediately

 

Search Tips

  • Phrase search for articles by putting quotation marks around phrases (i.e., "Middle Ages")
  • Search for multiple keywords using the operator AND (i.e. "Middle Ages" AND women)
  • Search for books, films, and/or articles by subject or person

Primary vs. Secondary Sources

A Primary source of information is first-person, original information. Examples:

  • a journal or diary
  • original research
  • interview
  • letter
  • speech
  • original work of art
  • government document
  • research article from a variety of databases and web sites

A Secondary source of information is material that has been taken from primary sources and then synthesized. Examples:

  • college textbook
  • biography
  • criticism
  • historical study
  • journal or magazine article that reviews original works