Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Schlager Anthology of Black America by The Schlager Anthology of Black America offers a modern, original sourcebook covering Black history from the 1500s to the present. From the creators and publishers of Milestone Documents in American History, this new three-volume set is built on the principles of inclusivity and accessibility. While presenting the essential primary sources from Black history, from iconic figures such as Frederick Douglass, W.E.B. Du Bois, and Martin Luther King Jr., this anthology also emphasizes often-marginalized voices, from women to those in the LGBTQ community. In addition, document texts are abridged to remain brief and accessible, even to struggling readers (including ESL students), while activity questions range in difficulty from basic to more advanced. Edited by Dan Royles (To Make the Wounded Whole) and featuring the contributions of numerous scholars, The Schlager Anthology of Black America covers more than 250 milestone sources from African American history. An Inclusive Approach The Schlager Anthology of Black America includes all of the classic documents from African American history, while also emphasizing a wide spectrum of voices and perspectives. In Unit 1 ("Many Thousands Gone: Black Experiences in Colonial America"), the set opens with the little-known 1540s narrative of Estevanico el Negro, possibly the first African-born person to set foot in what would later become the continental United States. From there, students and researchers will find slave codes from colonies like Virginia and Louisiana as well as early anti-slavery tracts from John Woolman and slave narratives from Olaudah Equiano and Venture. As the anthology moves through the American Revolution and Early Republic periods, it covers important pieces from Phillis Wheatley, Prince Hall, and Peter Williams; critical legislation such as the Missouri Compromise; and the intersection of Black slavery and Native American life. The middle units explore the decades before, during, and after the Civil War, as African Americans fought to achieve emancipation and some semblance of civil rights. In the wake of the war''s triumph--the eradication of slavery--came "The Betrayal of the Negro" (Unit 7), as Black advances during Reconstruction were wiped out with the advent of Jim Crow laws and Black codes. Critical voices such as Frederick Douglass, Anna Julia Cooper, Mary Church Terrell, and Ida B. Wells are featured in this unit, along with important court cases such as Pace v. Alabama and Plessy v. Ferguson. As the anthology moves through the twentieth century, it guides students through the important documents and events of each decade, from World War I and race riots in Texas and Oklahoma to the upheaval of the Great Depression and World War II. The flowering of Black cultural life and Black economic struggles during the 1920s and 1930s are seen in sources from Alain Locke and Helene Johnson to Robert Clifton Weaver and Mary McLeod Bethune. The Civil Rights Movement of the 1950s and 1960s is covered via iconic activists like Martin Luther King Jr., Bayard Rustin, Ella Baker, Malcolm X, and Fannie Lou Hamer. The final units cover Black feminism, gender, and sexuality, Black politics in the 70s, 80s, and 90s, and the election of Barack Obama, before ending with the creation of the Black Lives Matter movement and platform. A Focus on Accessibility The Schlager Anthology of Black America features carefully curated primary sources along with highly targeted activities to help students engage with and analyze primary documents from all periods of African American history, from the 1500s to the present. Document texts are carefully abridged to remain brief and accessible, even to struggling readers (including ESL students), both at the high school as well as early college levels. The commentary that accompanies each document is simple and straightforward. First, a fact box contains the key information about the source: document title, author name, date, document type, and a brief statement of the document''s significance. Next, each document includes a concise overview section that places the source in its proper historical context. Following the document text is a list of activity questions that prompt students to think more deeply about the source and its meaning and impact. Other Features In addition to the 250 sources and accompanying commentary, The Schlager Anthology of Black America includes unit introductions and Further Readings sections for each of the sixteen units in the set. The set also features a comprehensive subject index and an appendix of document categories. The Schlager Anthology of Black America represents a modern approach to historical reference. It is an essential resource for students, researchers, and teachers of Black history and is appropriate for high school, academic, and public libraries.
Call Number: Available online
Publication Date: 2021-08-01
The Schlager Anthology of the American Revolution by The Schlager Anthology of the American Revolution offers a modern, original sourcebook covering the movement for American independence. From the creators and publishers of Milestone Documents in American History, this new title is built on the principles of inclusivity and accessibility. Along with essential primary sources from the era, including Patrick Henry's "Give Me Liberty or Give Me Death," Thomas Paine's Common Sense, and Abigail Adams's "Remember the Ladies," this anthology also includes often-marginalized voices, from women to Native Americans to African Americans. These documents have been abridged and edited to make them more accessible to students of differing reading levels. Additionally, each source is followed by a series of questions that prompt readers to use their higher order thinking skills and engage with primary texts in a deep way. Edited by Jon Chandler (University College London lecturer and author of War, Patriotism and Identity in Revolutionary North America) and featuring contributions from numerous scholars, The Schlager Anthology of the American Revolution includes more than 80 textual and visual sources from this historical period. It marks the 2nd installment in the "Schlager Anthologies for Students" reference series.
Call Number: Available Online
Publication Date: 2021-11-01
Black Freedom Struggle in the United States This link opens in a new window
A curated selection of primary sources designed for teaching and learning about the struggles and triumphs of Black Americans. Developed with input from Black history scholars and advisors.
Calisphere This link opens in a new window
Calisphere is your gateway to California’s remarkable digital collections. Calisphere provides free access to unique and historically important artifacts for research, teaching, and curious exploration. Discover over one million photographs, documents, letters, artwork, diaries, oral histories, films, advertisements, musical recordings, and more. The collections in Calisphere have been digitized and contributed by all ten campuses of the University of California and other important libraries, archives, and museums throughout the state.
Ethnic Diversity Source - EBSCO This link opens in a new window
This database covers the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America. It provides full text from sources including peer-reviewed journals, magazines, e-books, biographies and primary source documents.
ProQuest Black Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
The Black Newspaper Collection: This historical newspaper collection provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Primary Source cont...
Voices of the African American Experience by From early accounts of free blacks in the Colonies to slave narratives recorded by Works Progress Administration employees in the 1930s to a recent speech by Senator Barack Obama, this collection offers a treasure trove of carefully selected primary documents from and concerning African Americans. It is among the largest and widest-ranging collection of documents on the entire African American experience in print. Voices of the African American Experience provides access to fresh voices from history until today in more than 130 documents. Examples include speeches, articles, mission statements, ephemera, testimony, letters, sermons, prayers, spirituals/songs, slave narratives, memoirs, essays, interviews, and more. Key official documents and important communications from noted African Americans are of course present, while making the words of ordinary African Americans from the past easily accessible to the general public. Each document is introduced and contextualized, making this set especially valuable and helpful in student research. The documents are organized in chronological order. Each document is sourced and the document introduction includes information such as parties involved, location, significance, and impact. A chronology and selected bibliography further aid in the writing of history term papers and African American History Month reports. Sample documents include: Narrative of the Uncommon Sufferings, and Surprising Deliverance of Briton Hammon, a Negro Man, 1760 Josiah Henson, Thirty Years a Slave, 1849 Frederick Douglass, Slave Holding Provisions in the Constitution, March 26, 1860 The Gullah Proverbs, 1861 What the Southern Negro Is Doing for Himself, by Samuel J. Barrows, 1891 Negro National Anthem, 1897 Restaurant Accommodations, 1903 Twenty-one Negro Spirituals, 1934-1938 Harlem Cocktail Party, Dorothy West, 1934-1939 Bullet or Ballot: Malcolm X, 1964 Jesse Jackson's 1984 Democratic National Convention Keynote Address, 1984 A More Perfect Union Speech, Barack Obama, March 18, 2008
Call Number: Available Online
Publication Date: 2009-03-20
In Motion by African Americans, more than any other populations in the Americas, have been shaped by migrations. Their culture and history are the products of black peoples' various movements, coerced and voluntary, that started, in the Western Hemisphere, five hundred years ago. Theirs is the story of men and women forced out of Africa; of enslaved people moved from the coastal southeast to the Deep South; of fugitives walking to freedom across the country and beyond; of colonists leaving their land to settle on foreign shores; of southerners migrating west and north; and of immigrants arriving from the Caribbean, South America, and Africa. Although the Atlantic slave trade has created an enduring image of black people as transported commodities, and is usually considered the single element in the construction of the African Diaspora, it is centuries of additional migrations that have given shape to the nation we know today, a nation different from that forged solely by the dreadful transportation of the Africans against their will. And it is this vast array of migrations that truly defines the African American experience. Always on the move, resourceful, and creative, men and women of African origin have been risk-takers in an exploitative and hostile environment. Their survival skills, efficient networks, and dynamic culture have enabled them to thrive and spread, and to be at the very core of the settling and development of the Americas. Their migrations have changed not only their world, and the fabric of the African Diaspora but also their nation and the Western Hemisphere. Between 1492 and 1776, an estimated 6.5 million people migrated to the Americas. More than 5 out of 6 were Africans. The major colonial labor force, they laid the economic and cultural foundations of the continents. Their migrations continued during and after slavery. In the United States alone, 6.5 million African Americans left the South for northern and western cities between 1916 and 1970. With this internal Great Migration, the most massive in the history of the country, African Americans stopped being a southern, rural community to become a national, urban population. The men and women of the Great Migration not only transformed the cities they settled in, but their neighborhoods became primary destinations for black people arriving from the Caribbean, Africa, and South America. These immigrants often retained their national and ethnic identities, and brought new resources into the African American community. With each wave of migration, changes in the demographic, cultural, religious, economic, and political life of the recipient communities occurred; and the nation's development has been inextricably linked with these movements. At the same time, from the earliest days, thousands of African Americans have left their country when it became apparent that they would not find at home the freedom and equality they aspired to. Their quest for liberty and better opportunities took them to Canada, Mexico, the Caribbean, and Africa. African American out-migration has now become insignificant, but black popular culture, created out of the diverse influences brought about by centuries of movement, resonates throughout the world in an unprecedented cultural migration. Today's 35 million African Americans are heirs to all the migrations that have formed, modeled, and transformed their community, the country, and the African Diaspora. They are the offspring of diverse African ethnicities who also include, in their genetic makeup, Europeans, Native Americans, and Asians. They represent the most diverse population in the nation. A population that has embraced its varied heritage built by millions of men and women constantly on the move, looking for better opportunities, starting over, paving the way, and making sacrifices for future generations.
Call Number: SLO Library Main Collection E185 .D625 2004
Publication Date: 2005-01-01