Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Newspapers and Databases
- Chronicling America: African American Newspapers
Digitized newspaper project from the Library of Congress.
- Newsbank Special Reports: Black History
In-depth perspectives on black culture, issues and events, along with profiles of famous figures and leaders. Includes primary source images from the slavery movement.
The Liberator (1831-1865) was the most widely circulated anti-slavery newspaper during the antebellum period and throughout the Civil War. It was published and edited in Boston by William Lloyd Garrison, a leading white abolitionist and founder of the influential American Anti-Slavery Society. Over the three decades of its publication, The Liberator denounced all people and acts that would prolong slavery including the United States Constitution.
The Crisis (1868–1963) by W.E.B. Du Bois was the founding editor of The Crisis, the official publication of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People, which presented articles and essays on civil rights, history, politics, and culture. This July 1919 issue is The Crisis’s annual “Education Number,” featuring images, editorials, and articles about African American education. In addition, this issue includes an editorial by Du Bois discussing the treatment of African American soldiers in Europe during the war.
The Colored American began publishing in 1893 under the ownership of Edward Elder Cooper, who had distinguished himself as the founder of the Indianapolis Freeman, the first illustrated African American newspaper. The weekly publication promoted itself as a national Negro newspaper and it carried lengthy feature stories on the achievements of African Americans across the country.
Delegate Magazine (1965-1986) Founded by Pittsburgh Courier journalist C. Melvin Patrick, each yearly-issue of Delegate contains hundreds of photographs providing coverage of African American professional and fraternal organizations, special events, award recognitions, individuals of note, and newsworthy situations. The magazine was a virtual year in review of African American life in the United States during the 1960s and 1980s. Published by MelPat Associates, Delegate magazines were distributed free of charge by African American organizations at their conferences and meetings. Help us transcribe this issue to make the names, places, and events discoverable to all.
- Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database
This digital memorial raises questions about the largest slave trades in history and offers access to the documentation available to answer them. European colonizers turned to Africa for enslaved laborers to build the cities and extract the resources of the Americas. They forced millions of Africans across the Atlantic to the Americas, and from one part of the Americas to another. Analyze these slave trades and view interactive maps, timelines, and animations to see the dispersal in action.
ProQuest Black Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
The Black Newspaper Collection: This historical newspaper collection provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Ethnic Diversity Source - EBSCO This link opens in a new window
This database covers the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America. It provides full text from sources including peer-reviewed journals, magazines, e-books, biographies and primary source documents.
- Black Past
This reference center with 7,296 posts is dedicated to providing information to the general public on African American history and the history of more than one billion people of African ancestry around the world. We invite you to explore and use all the resources of BlackPast.
- Library of Congress Manuscript: African-American History and Culture
The Manuscript Division has one of the nation's most valuable collections for the study of African-American history and culture.
- Voices from the Days of Slavery
The almost seven hours of recorded interviews presented here took place between 1932 and 1975 in nine Southern states. Twenty-three interviewees, born between 1823 and the early 1860s, discuss how they felt about slavery, slaveholders, coercion of slaves, their families, and freedom. Several individuals sing songs, many of which were learned during the time of their enslavement. It is important to note that all of the interviewees spoke sixty or more years after the end of their enslavement, and it is their full lives that are reflected in these recordings. The individuals documented in this presentation have much to say about living as African Americans from the 1870s to the 1930s, and beyond.
- First Blacks in the Americas
This website is about the local history, five centuries back, of the earliest Black African ancestors of today’s Dominicans. And its title alludes to the fact that La Española was the first instance of Black African presence in the Americas for which a historical record has survived
African Americans on the Central Coast
This collection focuses on those members of the Central Coast community who are of African-American heritage. The photos in the exhibit were collected by the members of the Black Gold Cooperative Library System Advisory Board. The African-American citizens in the various jurisdictions in the Black Gold region selected the photos each wanted to contribute to the exhibit. The choices were personal and varied.
A Primary source of information is first-person, original information. Examples:
- a journal or diary
- original research
- original work of art
- government document
- research article from a variety of databases and web sites
A Secondary source of information is material that has been taken from primary sources and then synthesized. Examples:
- college textbook
- historical study
- journal or magazine article that reviews original works
Films available through Cuesta
Films On Demand offers a variety of titles to honor and explain civil rights and Black history in America, including these titles. Use your LOG IN to see these titles and more.
The Civil Rights Movement (Item #47589)
Isaac Pope: The Spirit of an American Century (Item #182998)
King in the Wilderness (Item #148962)
Clementine Hunter’s World (Item #186565)
Slave Trade (Item #206201) from Finding Your Roots, Season 6
Tell Them We Are Rising: The Story of Historically Black Colleges and Universities (Item #166851)
Secrets of the Hollow: Last Disintegrated School (Item #206208)
Reconstruction: America After the Civil War—Episode 4 (Item #188583)
- The Wanderer: A Story of Slavery, Survival, and the Strength to Prevail (Item #215200)