Library Guides: Agriculture: Plants

Plant Identification

Better Homes and Gardens Plant Database Better Homes & Gardens is a go-to resource for home ideas, food and recipes for everyday and special occasions, and garden know-how that can't be rivaled
Botanical Terms
A glossary of terms from Calflora
Dave's Plant Guide Search over 160,000 plants. Members can chat with other gardeners in our 144 active forums, identify plants, pets, birds, and butterflies.
Fine Gardening Plant Guide
Database of 1738 plants
National Gardening Association Plants Database
Over 700,000 plants
Online Plant Guide Information includes common and scientific names as well as climate zones, height, spread, flowering seasons, flower colors, fruits, sun light requirements, water requirements, soil types and more. A powerful search tool allows you to search through the plant database quickly and easily to find information and pictures.
Tree Identification
Identify a tree by its leaves or needles, from the Arbor Day Foundation
USDA PLANTS Database
Standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S.

The New Sunset Western Garden Book by Sunset Magazine Editors
Call Number: North County on 2-hour reserve ; SB453.2 .W4 S9 2012
Publication Date: 2012
Armitage's Garden Perennials: A Color Encyclopedia by by A.M. Armitage (eBook)
Part one has perennials A to Z; part two has selected plants for specific characteristics and purposes. Includes index of species and cultivars and index of common names.
Perennials: The Gardener's Reference by Susan Carter, Carrie Becker, and Bob Lilly (eBook)
Covers more than 2,700 species and cultivars in 250 genera, making it one of the most comprehensive guides available.

Frontiers in Plant Science
The most cited plant science journal advances our understanding of plant biology for sustainable food security, functional ecosystems and human health. This link connects to the "research topics" page.
Nature Journal's Plant Sciences Scientific Reports
Scientific Reports is an open access journal publishing original research from across all areas of the natural sciences, psychology, medicine and engineering
USDA Office of Pest Management Policy
OPMP serves as the USDA lead regarding pesticide regulation and policy. This links to the OPMP's publications page.

Weed Photo Gallery
Weed identification
Weed Identification
Characteristics of broadleaf plants that will aid in identification.

• Weed ID (from BASF)

Available as an Android or iOS app.

Plant Pathologist's Pocketbook
This volume includes the latest research into the diseases that affect non-vascular plants. The chapters bring to light the most recent studies of pathogen identification, disease etiology, disease cycles, economic impact, plant disease epidemiology, plant disease resistance, how plant diseases affect humans and animals, pathosystem genetics, and management of plant diseases. The information provided here helps readers to stay current with this field's ongoing research and ever-developing knowledge base.
Phytopathology in Plants
This volume includes the latest research into the diseases that affect non-vascular plants. The chapters bring to light the most recent studies of pathogen identification, disease etiology, disease cycles, economic impact, plant disease epidemiology, plant disease resistance, how plant diseases affect humans and animals, pathosystem genetics, and management of plant diseases. The information provided here helps readers to stay current with this field's ongoing research and ever-developing knowledge base.

GM Approval Database
An easy-to-use database of biotech/GM crop approvals for public use. It features the biotech/GM crop events that have been approved for commercialization/planting and importation (food and feed). Entries in the database represent the majority of the GM crop events approved worldwide, based on publicly available English (and translatable) decision documents of each approving country, Biosafety Clearing House of the Convention on Biological Diversity, and peer-reviewed scholarly articles.