Library Guides: Communication Studies 201: Public Address (Dumas): Home

Ask a Librarian!

Ordering a book from another Cuesta campus

Live near the SLO campus but want a book from the North County library? We're happy to deliver books from one Cuesta campus to another. Click on the link below to learn how request this service.

How to Place a Hold
by Carina Love Last Updated Mar 2, 2020 0 views this year

Library Information

NORTH COUNTY CAMPUS HOURS

Monday - Thursday: 8:00 am - 8:00 pm
Friday: 9:00 am - 1:00 pm
Saturday: 10:00 am - 2:00 pm (studython dates hours will be 10:00 am - 7:00 pm)
9/15, 9/22, 9/29, 10/13, 10/27 (studython), 11/17, 12/1, 12/8 (studython)
Sunday: Closed

PHONE
Circulation Desk: (805) 591-6211
Reference Desk: (805) 591-6200 x 4410

SLO CAMPUS LIBRARY HOURS

Monday-Thursday: 8:00 am -8:00 pm
Friday: 8:00 am - 4:00 pm
Saturday - Sunday: Closed

PHONE
Circulation Desk: (805) 546-3155
Reference Desk: (805) 546-3157

Search

One Search makes it easy to find books, journal and magazine articles, eBooks, videos and streaming media from a single search box, with one list of results and options for refining them.

Getting Started

Go to the Cuesta Library's OneSearch box on the Library Home Page or myCuesta (under Resources tab)
Type in any keyword or phrase and choose the Search icon or Enter key on your keyboard
For the broadest results, do not change the default search (Everything)

Advanced Search | Search Help | Ask a Librarian

Cuesta Databases

If you are looking for specific database, go to the Databases A-Z list by clicking on the link from the library's navigation menu on the left-hand side of the library homepage. Databases like Credo Reference or Opposing Viewpoints are included on this list. You can also access the list from myCuesta.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text for over 3,100 peer-reviewed journals in social sciences, humanities, and STEM research
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference is an excellent resource for finding background information on a topic. This Searchable collection of 800 reference books includes dictionaries and subject encyclopedias.
NewsBank: Access World News This link opens in a new window
NewsBank provides access to local, regional, and national newspaper articles. This is a great resource if you are looking for articles about local news in the Tribune.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Pro and con articles and viewpoints about controversial issues, with topic overview, primary source documents, reference articles, interactive maps, infographics, statistics and more.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
1100 full-text newspapers, blogs, and news sites in full text, including LA Times, Wall Street Journal, Ted Radio Talks, 60 Minutes, and 17 current Spanish-language newspapers

Recommended Websites

Data.gov This link opens in a new window
Data.gov is the home of the U.S. Government’s open data where you can find Federal, state and local data, tools, and resources to conduct research, build apps, design data visualizations, and more.
Medline Plus This link opens in a new window
MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, the world’s largest medical library, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free.

MLA Top Health Websites
The websites on this page have been evaluated by the Medical Library Association (MLA), and have been deemed useful and credible.

Pew Research Center This link opens in a new window
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world.
ProCon.org This link opens in a new window
ProCon.org, a 501(c)(3) nonprofit nonpartisan public charity, provides professionally-researched pro, con, and related information on more than 50 controversial issues from gun control and death penalty to illegal immigration and alternative energy.

RefSeek
Currently in public beta, RefSeek is a web search engine for students and researchers that aims to make academic information easily accessible to everyone. RefSeek searches more than one billion documents, including web pages, books, encyclopedias, journals, and newspapers.

U.S. Census Bureau This link opens in a new window
The Census Bureau publishes data about the nation's people and economy.

Using Google Scholar is a great way to limit your Internet search results to scholarly articles. Articles cover many disciplines and are sourced from academic publishers, institutional repositories, and professional societies.

Evaluate

CRAAP Test

If you have found information from a source other than those listed above, you will want to evaluate it to make sure it is credible. Applying the CRAAP Test is one way to evaluate sources you have found on the Internet.

CRAAP Test

Fact Checking Websites

There are several websites that allow to check to see if information is true Here are a few of them:

FactCheck.org
FactCheck.org is a project of the Annenberg Public Policy Center of the University of Pennsylvania. Their mission is to "monitor the factual accuracy of what is said by major U.S. political players in the form of TV ads, debates, speeches, interviews and news releases."
PolitiFact
PolitiFact is another fact-checking source. Their mission states,"Fact-checking journalism is the heart of PolitiFact. Our core principles are independence, transparency, fairness, thorough reporting and clear writing. The reason we publish is to give citizens the information they need to govern themselves in a democracy."
Snopes
The Snopes.com web site was founded by David Mikkelson, a project begun in 1994 as an expression of his interest in researching urban legends that has since grown into the oldest and largest fact-checking site on the Internet — one widely regarded by journalists, folklorists, and laypersons alike as one of the world’s essential resources.

Cite

KnightCite Citation Generator

KnightCite is an online citation generator service provided by the Hekman Library of Calvin College. This service simplifies the often tedious task of compiling an accurate bibliography in the appropriate style by formatting the given data on a source into a reliable citation, eliminating the need to memorize minute details of style for multiple kinds of sources.

Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)
Use the Purdue OWL website to cross-check your citations in either MLA or APA.