Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Local History: North County

Resources for history of San Luis Obispo County

North County

Check general resources on the home page first, then check resources on this page for North County history.

Blythe California Collection

Using Cuesta Search, look for Blythe Collection, then limit to North County Campus

The Blythe California Collection focuses on the history of California, with an emphasis on the founding and early development of San Luis Obispo and Monterey Counties. It consists of  approximately four hundred rare and popular books and eight linear feet of boxed pamphlets, maps, videos, periodicals, and facsimiles of newspaper clippings. The books are cataloged in the Cuesta College online catalog under the location Blythe California Collection and are kept in North County Cuesta College Library Special Collections. All materials are available by appointment for use in the North County Cuesta College Library. Call (805)591-6211.

Pioneer Museum

Pioneer Museum

2010 Riverside Ave
Paso Robles, CA 93446
(805) 239-4556

Website: http://pasoroblespioneermuseum.org

The Museum has a collection of visual and written history preserving the cultural heritage of the Paso Robles area.

Paso Robles City Library

1000 Spring Street
Paso Robles, CA 93446
(805) 237-3870

The Library has a Californiana collection, searchable in their catalog at http://www.blackgold.org/polaris/default.aspx.

El Paso de Robles Area Historical Society

Paso Robles Historical Society800 12th St
Paso Robles, CA 93446
(805) 238-4996

website: http://www.pasorobleshistoricalsociety.org/

The Historical Society has Paso Robles newspapers, maps, books, photographs, etc.

Rios-Caledonia Historic Adobe Museum and Gift Shop

700 S Mission St
San Miguel, CA 93451
(805) 467-3357

Website: http://www.rios-caledoniaadobe.org/

The book catalog can be searched at http://www.librarything.com/profile/RiosCaledoniaAdobe.  The Library also houses an extensive collection of photographs and uncatalogued materials relating to the history of the area surrounding the Rios-Caledonia Adobe.

 

Atascadero Historical Society

6600 Lewis Ave
Atascadero, CA 93422
(805) 466-8341

The Historical Society has 3600 photos online at http://atascadero.pastperfectonline.com/

 

 

Camp Roberts Historical Museum

Camp Roberts Historical Museum

Building 114
Camp Roberts, CA

Website: http://www.camprobertshistoricalmuseum.com/

The topics of its exhibits range from the early ranches and the Salinan Indians through World War II, the Korean War, and Vietnam, to present-day mobilizations to the Middle East. The Museum has a library and archives.

Hearst Castle

Hearst Castle

Hearst Castle is a National Historic Landmark mansion located at San Simeon. It was designed by architect Julia Morgan, between 1919 and 1947, as a residence for newspaper magnate William Randolph Hearst, who died in 1951. In 1954 it became a California State Park. Since that time it has been operated as the Hearst San Simeon State Historical Monument where the estate, and its considerable collection of art and antiques, is open for public tours.