Library Guides: Local History: Home

Best Bets

If you're short on time, the following resources are your best bets:

Cuesta Library Search at https://www.cuesta.edu/library/

The Black Gold online catalog at http://www.blackgold.org/polaris/default.aspx , which shows books owned by all county libraries.

Historical Markers of San Luis Obispo County

Cal Poly Special Collections

Special Collections and Archives Department

The Kennedy Library’s Special Collections and Archives department provides access to original materials documenting the history of the San Luis Obispo region, with special emphasis on ethnic studies and environmental history.

California Historical Markers

Historical Markers of San Luis Obispo County

Welcome

Welcome to the guide for San Luis Obispo County history. Use the tabs above to navigate to different sections of the guide. This page contains general resources for county history.

Resources have been listed if they have print or online collections available for use. Museums and historical societies in the county that do not have these have not been listed; for example, Templeton Historical Society or Morro Bay Natural History Museum.

Cuesta Library Search

Search for reserves, articles, books, films and more...

Online Archive of California

Online Archive of California

The Online Archive of California (OAC) provides free public access to detailed descriptions of primary resource collections maintained by more than 200 contributing institutions including libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California and collections maintained by the 10 University of California campuses

Calisphere

Calisphere
Calisphere is the University of California’s free public gateway to a world of digitized primary sources. Chronologically-themed collections containing more than 150,000 photographs, documents and works of art may be searched by keyword or browsed by topic.

Ask a Librarian!

Library Information

Spring 2024 (Jan 16 - May 17)

SLO CAMPUS LIBRARIAN HOURS

Monday: 8 am - 8 pm
Tuesday: 8 am - 8 pm
Wednesday: 8 am - 8 pm
Thursday: 8 am - 8 pm
Friday: 8 am - 5 pm

SLO PHONE

Circulation Desk: (805) 546-3155
Reference Desk: (805) 546-3157

NCC LIBRARIAN HOURS

Monday: 9 am - 7 pm
Tuesday: 9 am - 7 pm
Wednesday: 9 am - 7 pm
Thursday: 9 am - 7 pm
Friday: 9 am - 5 pm

NCC PHONE

Circulation Desk: (805) 591-6211
Reference Desk: (805) 592-9410

For tech support requests, email support@cuesta.edu or call 805-546-3140

To check out textbooks, Chromebooks and WiFi hotspots, email circulation@cuesta.edu

California Newspaper Project

California Newspaper Project
The CNP catalog is the most comprehensive source of information about California newspapers. It details newspaper titles and holdings from more than 1,400 libraries, museums, historical societies and publishers' offices throughout the state. The catalog contains records for over 14,400 U.S. newspaper titles held in California repositories; close to 9,000 of these newspapers were or are published in California.