Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Encyclopedia of Criminology and Criminal Justice
A five-volume set containing concise overviews of major concepts of criminology and criminal justice.
Gale World of Criminal Justice
Individual entries explain in concise, detailed, and jargon-free language some of the most important topics, theories, discoveries, concepts, and organizations in criminal justice. Brief biographical profiles of the people who have made a significant and lasting impact on the field of criminal justice and society in general are included. Photographs, statistical charts, and graphs aid in understanding the topics and people covered in the reference work.
Browse by Topic: American History
Find digitized historical resources from the Library of Congress's collections.
This site allows you to search and view newspaper pages, 1880-1922, and find information about American newspapers published 1690-present.
Encyclopedia of American Studies
Brings together a wide range of disciplines related to the history and cultures of the United States, from pre-colonial days to the present.
Find answers in American Governance on all questions related to the variety of ways by which the American people govern themselves - from their constitutions and governments to the political norms and ideals that guide their actions as citizens and leaders; to local communities, civic associations, and political associations people form for collective deliberation and action; and to the relationships they form with their elected representatives.
C-SPAN Video Library
More than 250,000 hours of video (just about everything that has ever aired on C-SPAN), updated on a daily basis. Historical content includes debates, speeches, rallies, and more. Users can create custom video clips to save and share.
The Congressional Research Service (CRS), a division of the Library of Congress, is Congress’s think tank, researching and compiling nonpartisan reports on a governmental issues. This site, with bipartisan support, make these reports available to the public. Updated regularly, with over 15,000 reports so far.
U.S. Census Bureau
The Census Bureau is the leading source of data about the nation's people and economy.
USA.gov creates and organizes useful government information and services and makes them accessible to the public .
Nonpartisan analysis of the American population, our government’s finances, and government’s impact on society, based exclusively on publicly available government data sources.
APA Dictionary of Psychology
More than 25,000 authoritative entries across 90 subfields of psychology.
Cambridge Handbook of Psychology, Health and Medicine
Offers a comprehensive, accessible, one-stop resource for clinical psychologists, mental health professionals and specialists in health-related matters.
Encyclopedia of Applied Psychology
The Encyclopedia of Applied Psychology is a comprehensive and authoritative study covering the field of applied psychology. It includes over 300 articles on various aspects of this subject.
The Psych 101 Series: Media Psychology 101
The book critically examines research from cognitive, social, developmental, biological, and evolutionary approaches to psychology and addresses the interplay between media consumption and viewer behavior in such realms as advertising, body image, sex, and violence.
The A to Z of Corporate Social Responsibility
An easy-to-use guide to corporate social responsibility: from general concepts such as sustainability, stakeholder management, business ethics and human rights to more specific topics such as carbon trading, microfinance, biodiversity, the Base of the Pyramid model and globalization. This book also covers all the most important codes and guidelines, such as the Equator Principles, the UN Global Compact and ISO standards.
Culture Wars in America: An Encyclopedia of Issues, Viewpoints, and Voices
The term "culture wars" refers to the political and sociological polarization that has characterized American society the past several decades. This A-to-Z reference discusses, with supporting primary documents, major topics from abortion to women in the military.
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism
The Encyclopedia Of Race And Racism provides critical information and context on the underlying social, economic, geographical, and political conditions that gave rise to, and continue to foster, racism. Religion, political economy, social activism, health, concepts, and constructs are explored.