Library Resources: Primary Sources: Latina/o/x Americans

Includes images, texts, and video clips.

This collection is based on a photo essay depicting the contributions of Hispanic people to life of the community in the counties of San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara and Ventura. This exhibit focuses on those Hispanics who, without recognition or great material rewards, helped to build the social and economic prosperity of this nation. This collection is based on a photographic exhibit that was produced by the Black Gold Information Center in cooperation with the System Advisory Board of the Black Gold Cooperative Library network. The photographs were borrowed from a number of museums and libraries and from individuals within the Hispanic communities.

Documents and showcases historic Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Los Angeles, San Francisco, Tucson, El Paso, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s.

Photographs and documents that capture the history of Latino and Chicana/o people and culture in Southern California. These collections feature the arts, labor, and immigration.

Primary documents that tell the story of ethnic groups along the Columbia River Basin (encompassing areas of Oregon, Washington, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, Wyoming, Utah and and British Columbia).

The Bracero History Archive collects and makes available the oral histories and artifacts pertaining to the Bracero program, a guest worker initiative that spanned the years 1942-1964. Millions of Mexican agricultural workers crossed the border under the program to work in more than half of the states in America.

We celebrate Hispanic Heritage Month (September 15 to October 15) to recognize the achievements and contributions of Hispanic American champions who have inspired others to achieve success.

Artifacts related to Art, Culture, Immigration, Labor, Notable People.

Visit this site to explore the many resources about the history of Latino Americans curated by the staff at the Smithsonian Latino Center

Founded in 1962 by Cesar Chavez, the United Farm Workers of America is the nation's first successful and largest farm workers union currently active in 10 states. The UFW continues to organize in major agricultural industries across the nation. Has a film and photo archive.

A freely available archive of primary documents from Mexico from the 15th Century to the present. (You might need to click on Translate to have the pages show up in English).

A digital archive that includes photographs, interviews, artifacts, and related materials to explore the experiences of tens of thousands of citizens who have left Cuba in small boats, homemade rafts and other unusual craft during the rafter crisis of 1994.

Fantastic resource for primary source material created by activists, governmental agencies and NGOs, political parties, etc. Includes images of pamphlets, flyers, leaflets, brochures, posters, stickers, and postcard

The Onda Latina Collection consists of 226 digitally preserved audio programs including interviews, music, and informational programs related to the Mexican American community and their concerns from the radio series "The Mexican American Experience" and "A esta hora conversamos" the Longhorn Radio Network, 1976-1982.