Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Map of California, circa 1650 by Johannes Vingboons, is in the public domain.
16th- Early 20th Century Maps of Africa
Features digital copies of 113 antique maps of Africa and accompanying text dating from the mid-16th Century to the early 20th Century.
David Rumsey Map Collection
The David Rumsey Collection focuses primarily on cartography of the Americas from the 18th and 19th centuries, but also has maps of the World, Asia, Africa, Europe, and Oceania. The collection includes atlases, globes, school geographies, books, maritime charts, and a variety of separate maps, including pocket, wall, children's and manuscript.
Library of Congress: Collections with Maps
Sixteen collections of maps: Mapping the National Parks, Railroad Maps 1828-1900, American Revolution and Its Era: Maps and Charts of North America and the West Indies 1750-1789, Rochambeau Map Collection, Civil War Maps, World War II Military Situation Maps, Maps of Liberia 1830-1870, Cities and Towns, Discovery and Exploration, Finding Our Place in the Cosmos: From Galileo to Sagan and Beyond, General Maps, Hotchkiss Map Collection, Louisiana: European Explorations and the Louisiana Purchase, Military Battles and Campaigns, Sanborn Maps, and Transportation and Communication.
Old Maps Online
Allows the user to search for online historical maps across numerous different collections via a geographical search. Search by typing a place-name or by clicking in the map window, and narrow by date.
Pacific Basin Nautical Charts
Charts of the Pacific Ocean, circa 1910-1960.
Perry-Castaneda Historical Map Web Sites
Extensive list of links to historical map collections online
World Digital Library: Maps
More than 300 map images, dating from 8000BC to 1949AD and representing at least 100 geographic areas.