Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
NewsBank: Access World News This link opens in a new window
NewsBank provides access to local, regional, and national newspaper articles. This is a great resource if you are looking for articles about local news in the Tribune.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source Plus provides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
1100 full-text newspapers, blogs, and news sites in full text, including LA Times, Wall Street Journal, Ted Radio Talks, 60 Minutes, and 17 current Spanish-language newspapers
California Digital Newspaper Collection
Four million pages of California newspapers spanning 1846 to the present. They include the Alta California (1849-1889); the San Francisco Call (1900-1910); the Amador Ledger (1900-1911); the Imperial Valley Press (1901-1911); and the Los Angeles Herald (1905-1907). San Luis Obispo County is not included.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Search and read newspaper pages from several states, including California; search a directory (including library holdings) for U.S. newspapers published from 1690-present. Oldest digitized California newspaper is Los Angeles Daily Herald from 1873.
Early Eighteenth-Century Newspaper Reports
Collection of English newspaper reports about crime, sexuality, popular culture, death, advertisements, science, religion, politics, etc.
Historical African American Newspapers Available Online
Provides a list of historical African American newspapers available online as part of digitization projects at libraries and historical societies as well as digitization projects done by Google. Browse by title, time period, or geographic area.
Historical Jewish Press
Includes 189 newspapers in ten different languages. Seven newspapers are in English, including the Los Angeles B’nai B’rith Messenger, 1897-1995.
Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press
Documents and showcases historic Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Los Angeles, San Francisco, Tucson, El Paso, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s.
ICON: International Coalition on Newspapers
Offers access to many digitized newspapers from the U.S. and around the world. Note that only newspapers without the dollar icon ($) are freely available.
Richmond Daily Dispatch (the Civil War Years)
November 1860-March 1865. Search or browse the pages of a daily newspaper from the Confederate Capital.
Secession Era Newspaper Editorials
Partisan newspaper editorials on the Nebraska bill debates; Dred Scott; John Brown's Raid on Harper's Ferry; and the attack on Massachusetts Senator Charles Sumner by South Carolina representative Preston Brooks.