Library Resources: Primary Sources: Religion

Islamic books and multimedia related to the history, law, practice, and society of the Islamic religion, with particular emphasis on Twelver Shia Islamic school of thought.

Bibles in multiple languages, including 60 different English versions, Greek, and Hebrew. Searchable.

Browse or search.

The CDRI database provides access to digital images of woodcuts, photographs, slides, papyri, coins, maps, postcards, manuscripts, lithographs, sermons, shape-note tune books, and various forms of Christian art, architecture, and iconography.

Online texts of hundreds of classic Christian writings. Early Christianity, later history of the church, theology, and more.

Texts on Islamic history from ancient times to the 20th century.

This site is a freely available non-profit archive of electronic texts about religion, mythology, legends and folklore, and occult and esoteric topics. Texts are presented in English translation and, in some cases, in the original language.

Browse or search this translation by M.H. Shakir.

Site dedicated to the study of women's religious communities from 400 to 1600CE. Includes a separate section of primary sources, which can be browsed by title/author/community/region/century. Search function also available.

Collection of 13 ancient codices containing over 50 texts discovered in upper Egypt in 1945. The texts provide insight into early Christianity in general and Gnosticism in particular.

Letters, speeches and other writings from Pope Leo XIII (1878) through Pope Benedict XVI.

Links to numerous websites of religious texts (Bahai / Bible/ Buddhist / Christian / Confucian / Hindu / Islamic / Jain / Jewish / New Religious Movements / Shinto / Sikh / Taoist / Zoroastrian /).

The Princeton Theological Commons is a digital library of over 120,000 resources on theology and religion. It consists mainly of public domain books and also includes periodicals, audio recordings, photographs, manuscript collections, and other formats. Topics include missions, Protestantism, history, Catholic Church, church history, theology, language and literature, and practical theology.

Presents texts of the Bible (New American), Catechism of the Catholic Church, Code of Canon Law, II Vatican Council, and documents of the Jubilee 2000. Most texts are presented in multiple languages.

An online selecton of titles from the Cornell University Library's extensive collection of materials on Witchcraft. The Witchcraft Collection documents the earliest and the latest manifestations of the belief in witchcraft as well as its geographical boundaries, and elaborates this history with works on canon law, the Inquisition, torture, demonology, trial testimony, and narratives. The collection focuses on witchcraft not as folklore or anthropology, but as theology and as religious heresy.

Collection of manuscripts, books and images. Use limiters in the left column to focus search on a specific geography, date range, or topic.