Library Guides: Ethnic Studies: ETHN 230 Introduction to Social Justice and Ethnic Studies

Instructor Contact Information

Instructor: Dr. Mario Espinoza-Kulick

Pronouns: he/él

Email: mario_espinozakulick@cuesta.edu

Fall Office Hours:

Tuesdays 1 PM - 4 PM SLO Campus, Room 4040

Wednesdays 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM, SLO Campus, Room 4040

Instructor: Dr. Sebastian Ferrada

Pronouns: They/Them

Email: sebastian_ferrada@cuesta.edu

Office Hours:

Tuesday, 10:30AM – 12:00PM via Zoom

Thursday, 10:30AM – 12:00PM via email

Tues. 2:30-3:30PM and Wed. 3:30-4:30PM at North County Campus (NCC), Room N4024

Textbooks and required readings

Required Materials

Textbook: Kay Fischer, Mario Alberto Viveros Espinoza-Kulick, Ulysses Acevedo, Teresa Hodges, Melissa Leal, and Tamara Cheshire, Introduction to Ethnic Studies. Open Educational Resource: LibreTexts, 2023. Available online https://tinyurl.com/IESOER
Journal articles, book chapters, and media will be assigned and made available on Canvas. Students are responsible for accessing and/or renting these materials as required.

Opportunity Atlas

Opportunity Atlas
Which neighborhoods in America offer children the best chance to rise out of poverty?
The Opportunity Atlas answers this question using anonymous data following 20 million Americans from childhood to their mid-30s.
Now you can trace the roots of today's affluence and poverty back to the neighborhoods where people grew up.

Museums and Galleries

National Museum of African American History and Culture

National Museum of the American Indian

The Legacy Museum and Memorial

Chinese American Museum in Washington, DC

Japanese American National Museum

The Cheech Marin Center for Chicano Art, Culture & Industry

Molina Family Latino Gallery at the Smithsonian

Black, Indigenous and People of Color (BIPOC) Voices

Juanita Loundmonclay - Five Giants: The Unsung Civil Rights Heroes
89-year-old Great-granddaughter of a slave; survivor of a segregated school system and the violence of poverty by racism to emerge as a Civil Rights mentee, who helped influence a president; served as Vice President of an HBCU (Historically Black college/University) and still working to achieve the rights of others; currently board chair of county "war on Poverty program initiated by Pres. Johnson.
John Lewis and Bryan Stevenson - The fight for Civil Rights and Freedom
Civil rights leader and longtime US congressman John Lewis spent his life fighting for freedom and justice for everyone. In this illuminating conversation with lawyer and activist Bryan Stevenson, Lewis discusses the essential importance of voting, shares encouraging words of wisdom for the generation of young people currently organizing in the struggle for racial justice and tells moving stories from his decades of making "good trouble" -- at the Freedom Rides, March on Washington and in the halls of Congress.
Ibram X. Kendi - The difference between being "not racist" and antiracist
There is no such thing as being "not racist," says author and historian Ibram X. Kendi. In this vital conversation, he defines the transformative concept of antiracism to help us more clearly recognize, take responsibility for and reject prejudices in our public policies, workplaces and personal beliefs.

Missing & Murdered Indian Women USA MMIW USA’s number one mission is to bring our missing home and help the families of the murdered cope and support them through the process of grief. We give them hands-on support and guidance and if we don’t have the answers, we get the answers so that these families do not feel abandoned and alone in this struggle like so many have before them.
Murdered & Missing Indigenous Women Our women, girls, and two-spirts are being taken from us in an alarming way. As of 2016, the National Crime Information Center has reported 5,712 cases of missing American Indian and Alaska Native women and girls. Strikingly, the U.S Department of Justice missing persons database has only reported 116 cases. The majority of these murders are committed by non-Native people on Native-owned land. The lack of communication combined with jurisdictional issues between state, local, federal, and tribal law enforcement, make it nearly impossible to begin the investigative process. Please click here to learn more.
National Indigenous Women's Resource Center The National Indigenous Women’s Resource Center, Inc. (NIWRC) is a Native-led nonprofit organization dedicated to ending violence against Native women and children. The NIWRC provides national leadership in ending gender-based violence in tribal communities by lifting up the collective voices of grassroots advocates and offering culturally grounded resources, technical assistance and training, and policy development to strengthen tribal sovereignty. Our staff and board of directors consist of Native women from throughout the United States with extensive experience and commitment to ending violence against Native women and their children. NIWRC's staff bring decades of expertise in building the grassroots movement to increase tribal responses to domestic violence and increase safety for Native women.
Native Hope There is widespread anger and sadness in First Nations communities. Sisters, wives, mothers, and daughters are gone from their families without clear answers. There are families whose loved ones are missing—babies growing up without mothers, mothers without daughters, and grandmothers without granddaughters. For Native Americans, this adds one more layer of trauma upon existing wounds that cannot heal. Communities are pleading for justice.
U.S. Deptarment of the Interior - Indian Affairs American Indian and Alaska Native people are at a disproportionate risk of experiencing violence, murder, or going missing and make up a significant portion of the missing and murdered cases. The Missing and Murdered Unit within the Bureau of Indian Affairs Office of Justice Services (BIA-OJS) investigates missing and murdered cases in pursuit of justice for those impacted by violence.

Databases

Ethnic Diversity Source - EBSCO This link opens in a new window
This database covers the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America.
Independent Voices -JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. Produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines.
Black Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper collection provides researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Includes African American, American Indian and LGBTQ Thought and Culture.

Zine Collection

UCSB Library
Social Justice Zine Collection

Ethnic Studies: ETHN 230 Introduction to Social Justice and Ethnic Studies

Course Description