Zines (pronounced zeens) are DIY magazines made with minimal materials and little effort but with high-impact meaning and messages. They are intentionally anti-commercial with limited copies made on copiers or printers and can be sold, swapped, or given away. They can be made by anyone regardless of age or skill set.
Often created by marginalized or alienated individuals and/or communities, zines provide a platform for these voices (and all others) to be heard. They can be educational, calls to action, political, fun, promotional tools, informative, or personal.
The Creative Independent
(using FlipHTML5)
VICE Guide to Life
with Google Slides
Asian American Feminist resource guide.
In Spanish and English. 2012-2013.
Zines for old school games.
A compilation of zines.
West Coast Punk Zines.
By Tania Bruguera
An informal archive of 100+ disorientation publications by student activists, threading counter-narratives across institutions.
Digital and print zine.
By Sarah Crowder and Sophie Iaonnou
By Beth Pickens
By Beth Pickens
By Monroe County Public Library
By Monroe County Public Library
Balancing chronic pain and exercise, no diet talk, hot tunes!
Online magazine for girls by girls.
Archives of an online magazine (2011-2018) made for and by teenagers.
The Sherwood Forest Zine Library is a fully functioning independent media library focusing on zines and DIY culture.
The mission of Solidarity! Revolutionary Center and Radical Library is to organize as a non-hierarchical collective for the purpose of sharing and distributing information. The collection is compiled of Zines (personal, non-copy written, non-traditionally peer reviewed articles, journals, and art) that were specifically purchased, donated, traded, or created for the Solidarity! Collection. These works cover every topic from Globalization and the Industrial Prison Complex to first kisses.
Our distro focuses primarily on anarchist tactics and skill-building with the goal of increasing the proliferation of anarchist projects and activities. We have zines on topics including protest tactics and strategy, group dynamics, consent, prisoner support, security culture, etc.
Simmons University Library
"Sorting the Zines" by pigmeat is licensed under CC BY-NC-ND 2.0
Provides over one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences from museums and universities from all over the world.
Ethnic Diversity Source - EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Search databases containing thousands of journal, magazine, and newspaper articles covering all disciplines.
Provides access to electronic reference titles, books, and encyclopedias covering many subjects.
Provides full-text scholarly resources including archival and current journals, books, and primary sources in Archaeology, Art & Art History, Asian Studies, Classical Studies, Education, History, Jewish Studies, Language & Literature, Law, Music, Philosophy, and Political Science.
Search databases containing thousands of journal, magazine, and newspaper articles covering all disciplines.
Zines can be about ANYTHING but here are some Zine genre examples:
A digital magazine about zine culture and the independent arts.
Examples of different types of zines.
Issuu blog post with examples.
Provided by Idaho Commission for Libraries
By Los Angeles Public Library with 7 zine library branches
Public Library
San Francisco Public Library
Little Maga/Zine Collection
Oakland Public Library
Zine Collection
UCSB Library
Social Justice Zine Collection