Ethnic Studies: Native Americans

Historical constitutions and legal materials digitized from the Law Library of Congress collection.

Digital collection of original photographs and documents about the Northwest Coast and Plateau Indian cultures.

Includes images, texts, and sound/video clips.

The collection currently includes "Documents Relating to the Negotiation of Ratified and Unratified Treaties With Various Indian Tribes, 1801-1869" and the "Office of Indian Affairs, Annual Report of the Commissioner of Indian Affairs." Includes instructions to treaty commissioners, reports, letters, and in some cases copies of the treaties.

"Provides access to typescripts of interviews (1967 -1972) conducted with hundreds of Indians in Oklahoma regarding the histories and cultures of their respective nations and tribes. Related are accounts of Indian ceremonies, customs, social conditions, philosophies, and standards of living." Arranged by tribe.

"The North American Indian by Edward S. Curtis is one of the most significant and controversial representations of traditional American Indian culture ever produced... In over 2000 photogravure plates and narrative, Curtis portrayed the traditional customs and lifeways of eighty Indian tribes."

The First Nations Collection of the Southern Oregon Digital Archives consists of documents, books and articles relating to the indigenous peoples of this bioregion.

The online version of an exhibit held at the National Library of Medicine 15 April - 31 August 1994, National Institutes of Health, USA.

Contains more than 17,000 pictorial records of native peoples made chiefly by European and Euro- American artists and photographers. More than three-quarters of the images are photographs. Other material includes drawings, engravings, lithographs, posters, and architectural drawings. Materials are mainly from the period 1860 to 1940.

Includes photographs, paintings, ledger drawings, documents, serigraphs, and stereographs from 1874 through the 1940's.

Kappler's Indian Affairs is an historically significant, seven volume compilation of U.S. treaties, laws and executive orders pertaining to Native American Indian tribes. The volumes cover U.S. Government treaties with Native Americans from 1778-1883 (Volume II) and U.S. laws and executive orders concerning Native Americans from 1871-1970 (Volumes I, III-VII).

Images documenting the interiors and exteriors of missions in San Antonio, San Carlos, San Diego, San Fernando, San Francisco, San Gabriel, San Juan, San Juan Capistrano, San Lus Rey, San Miguel, Santa Barbara, and Santa Ynez. The original albumen photographs were taken by William Henry Jackson.

Provides access to constitutions, tribal codes and other legal documents.

Texts of documents, mostly from the 19th century, about the history of federal policy concerning native peoples.

Texts of Native American religion, mythology and folklore. Part of the larger Sacred Texts site.

This collection focuses on those members of the Central Coast community who are of California Indian heritage. The original native people of the Central Coast region include the Tataviam from interior Ventura County, the Nicoleño from San Nicolas Island, the Salinan from northern San Luis Obispo County and the following branches of the Chumash Linguistic Family: Ventureño from Ventura County, Barbareño and Ineseño from Santa Barbara County, Obispeño from San Luis Obispo County and Cruzeño Chumas from the Northern Channel Islands.The collection is based on a photographic exhibit that was produced by the Black Gold Cooperative System Advisory Board in collaboration with Dr. John R. Johnson, Curator of Anthropology at the Santa Barbara Museum of Natural History. These photos have been obtained from museums, archives and family collections.

Offers digital views of Plains drawing on paper created during the 1860-1900 period.

Contains approximately 2000 documents and images relating to the Native American population of the Southeastern United States. The documents are comprised of letters, legal proceedings, military orders, financial papers and archaeological images relating to Native Americans in the Southeast.

Text of treaties adopted between 1778 and 1868.