Library Guides: Ethnic Studies: Databases and eBooks

Journals

"Journal of Ethnic & Migration Studies"
Contains research on all forms of migration & its consequences.

Online
Peer reviewed

"Cultural Studies"
Explores the relation between cultural practices, everyday life, material, economic, political, geographical, & historical contexts.

Online
Peer Reviewed

"Multicultural Perspectives"
Promotes the philosophy of social justices, equity and inclusion. It celebrates cultural and ethnic diversity as a national strength that enriches society.

Online
Peer Reviewed

Free Resources

Library of Congress Research Guides

African American History Over 400 years of the African American experience is documented through primary source materials at the Library of Congress. This guide provides access to digitized collections, search strategies, and external websites related to the topic.
Asian Studies The Library of Congress provides access to over 1,700 electronic databases through its E-Resources Online Catalog (EROC). This research guide provides guidance for selecting and accessing those resources focused on Asian Studies.
Indians of North America: Selected Resources
LatinX Studies This guide provides curated Library of Congress resources for researching LatinX Studies, including digitized primary source materials in a wide variety of formats, books and periodicals, online databases, and research strategies.
LGBTQIA+ Studies The collections of the Library of Congress tell the rich and diverse story of LGBTQ+ life in America and around the world. This research guide serves as an introduction into the excellent collection of LGBTQ+ resources available at the Library of Congress
Native American Heritage Month: Exhibits and Collections This Web portal is a collaborative project of the Library of Congress and the National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution, United States Holocaust Memorial Museum and U.S. National Archives and Records Administration.
Research Guides organized by Subject

Databases

Ethnic Diversity Source - EBSCO This link opens in a new window
This database covers the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America.
JSTOR Essential Collection This link opens in a new window
Foundational content in the Humanities and Social Sciences with nearly 700 core titles across 45 disciplines. Includes the full text of each journal from its beginning.

Within JSTOR, search for the following topics:

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Credo Reference is an excellent resource for finding background information on a topic. This Searchable collection of 800 reference books includes dictionaries and subject encyclopedias.

Use Credo Reference to build background knowledge - Ethnic Studies

Topic searches might include:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Full text for over 3,100 peer-reviewed journals in social sciences, humanities, and STEM research

Within Academic Search complete try using the Keywords and Subject Headings mentioned in the Research Box on the Home page tab.

Tips to narrow your results:

Use quotation marks around your search terms
Limit your results by choosing full text and
Scholarly Peer reviewed articles
Narrow the publication date

Search for eBooks

America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This full-text database covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. With hundreds of full-text journals and books, this database is a key reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Gale eBooks is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest eBook Central contains over 200,000 eBooks from various publishers across a wide range of academic disciplines. The collection includes books from major university presses and other scholarly publishers.
Ebook Collection-EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Thousands of eBooks from the EBSCO collection.

Additional Databases

Black Freedom Struggle in the United States This link opens in a new window
A curated selection of primary sources designed for teaching and learning about the struggles and triumphs of Black Americans. Developed with input from Black history scholars and advisors.
Calisphere This link opens in a new window
Calisphere is your gateway to California’s remarkable digital collections. Calisphere provides free access to unique and historically important artifacts for research, teaching, and curious exploration. Discover over one million photographs, documents, letters, artwork, diaries, oral histories, films, advertisements, musical recordings, and more. The collections in Calisphere have been digitized and contributed by all ten campuses of the University of California and other important libraries, archives, and museums throughout the state.
Independent Voices -JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. Produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines.