Examines the contributions of people of color and Indigenous peoples in media and popular culture. Covers the cultural, economic, social, and political forces that shape intersectional representations in media. Analyzes representations of race, ethnicity, Indigeneity, immigration, gender, and sexuality in film, television, music, art, and news media by utilizing Ethnic Studies theoretical frameworks and methods including queer of color critique, womxn of color feminisms, cultural studies, and new media studies. Interprets popular culture and independent productions to understand how media representations reproduce structural violence through controlling images and inspire audiences to imagine worlds beyond struggle.
Please click on this link to access the Welcome Letter.
Instructor: Dr. Mario Espinoza-Kulick
Pronouns: he/él
Email: mario_espinozakulick@cuesta.edu
Fall Office Hours:
Tuesdays 1 PM - 4 PM SLO Campus, Room 4040
Wednesdays 3:30 PM - 5:30 PM, SLO Campus, Room 4040
Race and Cultural Practice in Popular Culture by
Race and Cultural Practice in Popular Culture is an innovative work that freshly approaches the concept of race as a social factor made concrete in popular forms, such as film, television, and music. The essays collectively push past the reaffirmation of static conceptions of identity, authenticity, or conventional interpretations of stereotypes and bridge the intertextual gap between theories of community enactment and cultural representation. The book also draws together and melds otherwise isolated academic theories and methodologies in order to focus on race as an ideological reality and a process that continues to impact lives despite allegations that we live in a post-racial America. The collection is separated into three parts: Visualizing Race (Representational Media), Sounding Race (Soundscape), and Racialization in Place (Theory), each of which considers visual, audio, and geographic sites of racial representations respectively.
Race and Media: Critical Approaches by
A foundational collection of essays that demonstrate how to study race and media From graphic footage of migrant children in cages to #BlackLivesMatter and #OscarsSoWhite, portrayals and discussions of race dominate the media landscape. Race and Media adopts a wide range of methods to make sense of specific occurrences, from the corporate portrayal of mixed-race identity by 23andMe to the cosmopolitan fetishization of Marie Kondo. As a whole, this collection demonstrates that all forms of media--from the sitcoms we stream to the Twitter feeds we follow--confirm racism and reinforce its ideological frameworks, while simultaneously giving space for new modes of resistance and understanding. In each chapter, a leading media scholar elucidates a set of foundational concepts in the study of race and media--such as the burden of representation, discourses of racialization, multiculturalism, hybridity, and the visuality of race. In doing so, they offer tools for media literacy that include rigorous analysis of texts, ideologies, institutions and structures, audiences and users, and technologies. The authors then apply these concepts to a wide range of media and the diverse communities that engage with them in order to uncover new theoretical frameworks and methodologies. From advertising and music to film festivals, video games, telenovelas, and social media, these essays engage and employ contemporary dialogues and struggles for social justice by racialized communities to push media forward. Contributors include: Mary Beltrán Meshell Sturgis Ralina L. Joseph Dolores Inés Casillas Jennifer Lynn Stoever Jason Kido Lopez Peter X Feng Jacqueline Land Mari Castañeda Jun Okada Amy Villarejo Aymar Jean Christian Sarah Florini Raven Maragh-Lloyd Sulafa Zidani Lia Wolock Meredith D. Clark Jillian M. Báez Miranda J. Brady Kishonna L. Gray Susan Noh
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America by
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America contains 175 essays (that's 25 more than the previous edition) on specific minority and ethnic groups in the U.S., with an emphasis on culture (religions, holidays, customs, language) in addition to information on historical background and settlement patterns. The Encyclopedia also covers ethnoreligious groups such as Jews, Chaldeans and Amish. Each essay has been completely updated and contains a listing of organizations and research centers; names addresses and contact information for periodicals, radio and television stations; and a list of suggestions for further reading. Also featured are more than 350 photographs and illustrations, sources for further study and a general annotated bibliography.
Contemporary Black American Cinema by
Contemporary Black American Cinema offers a fresh collection of essays on African American film, media, and visual culture in the era of global multiculturalism. Integrating theory, history, and criticism, the contributing authors deftly connect interdisciplinary perspectives from American studies, cinema studies, cultural studies, political science, media studies, and Queer theory. This multidisciplinary methodology expands the discursive and interpretive registers of film analysis. From Paul Robeson's and Sidney Poitier's star vehicles to Lee Daniels's directorial forays, these essays address the career legacies of film stars, examine various iterations of Blaxploitation and animation, question the comedic politics of "fat suit" films, and celebrate the innovation of avant-garde and experimental cinema.
Gender, Race and Class in Media by
This text introduces students to contemporary media scholarship in an accessible way that builds upon students′ own media experiences and interests, analyzing popular genres such as soaps, talk shows, music, pornography, made-for-TV movies, advertising and romance novels. The introduction delineates the major paradigms in media studies today from a critical/cultural perspective. It outlines the book′s integrated approach to media studies which incorporates three distinct but related areas of investigation: political economy of production, textual analysis and audience response/resistance. The introductions to the parts provide a framework for understanding and analyzing how gender, race and class are structural and experiential categories that inform the production, construction and consumption of media representations. The readings by distinguished contributors are drawn from original essays and influential, previously published articles. They provide a framework for understanding and analyzing how gender, race and class are structural and experiential categories that inform the production, construction and consumption of media representations.
Latino Images in Film by
The bandido, the harlot, the male buffoon, the female clown, the Latin lover, and the dark lady--these have been the defining, and demeaning, images of Latinos in U.S. cinema for more than a century. In this book, Charles Ramírez Berg develops an innovative theory of stereotyping that accounts for the persistence of such images in U.S. popular culture. He also explores how Latino actors and filmmakers have actively subverted and resisted such stereotyping. In the first part of the book, Berg sets forth his theory of stereotyping, defines the classic stereotypes, and investigates how actors such as Raúl Julia, Rosie Pérez, José Ferrer, Lupe Vélez, and Gilbert Roland have subverted stereotypical roles. In the second part, he analyzes Hollywood's portrayal of Latinos in three genres: social problem films, John Ford westerns, and science fiction films. In the concluding section, Berg looks at Latino self-representation and anti-stereotyping in Mexican American border documentaries and in the feature films of Robert Rodríguez. He also presents an exclusive interview in which Rodríguez talks about his entire career, from Bedhead to Spy Kids, and comments on the role of a Latino filmmaker in Hollywood and how he tries to subvert the system.
Migrating to the Movies by
The rise of cinema as the predominant American entertainment around the turn of the last century coincided with the migration of hundreds of thousands of African Americans from the South to the urban "land of hope" in the North. This richly illustrated book, discussing many early films and illuminating black urban life in this period, is the first detailed look at the numerous early relationships between African Americans and cinema. It investigates African American migrations onto the screen, into the audience, and behind the camera, showing that African American urban populations and cinema shaped each other in powerful ways. Focusing on Black film culture in Chicago during the silent era, Migrating to the Movies begins with the earliest cinematic representations of African Americans and concludes with the silent films of Oscar Micheaux and other early "race films" made for Black audiences, discussing some of the extraordinary ways in which African Americans staked their claim in cinema's development as an art and a cultural institution.
Latino Looks by
What are "Latin looks"? A Latin look may seem at first blush to be something that everyone recognizes--brunette, sensual, expressive, animated, perhaps threatening. But upon reflection, we realize that these are the images that are prevalent in the media, while the reality in Latino communities is of a rich diversity of people and images. This book brings together a selection of the best, the most interesting, and the most analytically sophisticated writing on how Latinos have been portrayed in movies, television, and other media since the early years of the twentieth century and how images have changed over time in response to social and political change. Particular emphasis is given to representations of class, gender, color, race, and the political relationship between the United States and Latin America. Together the essays offer a corrective lens for interpreting how images are created, perpetuated, and manipulated.
Reservation Reelism by
In this deeply engaging account Michelle H. Raheja offers the first book-length study of the Indigenous actors, directors, and spectators who helped shape Hollywood’s representation of Indigenous peoples. Since the era of silent films, Hollywood movies and visual culture generally have provided the primary representational field on which Indigenous images have been displayed to non-Native audiences. These films have been highly influential in shaping perceptions of Indigenous peoples as, for example, a dying race or as inherently unable or unwilling to adapt to change. However, films with Indigenous plots and subplots also signify at least some degree of Native presence in a culture that largely defines Native peoples as absent or separate. nbsp; Native actors, directors, and spectators have had a part in creating these cinematic representations and have thus complicated the dominant, and usually negative, messages about Native peoples thatnbsp;films portray. In Reservation Reelism Raheja examines the history of these Native actors, directors, and spectators,nbsp;reveals their contributions, and attempts to create positive representations in film that reflect the complex and vibrant experiences of Native peoples and communities.
White Robes, Silver Screens by
The Ku Klux Klan was reestablished in Atlanta in 1915, barely a week before the Atlanta premiere of The Birth of a Nation, D. W. Griffith's paean to the original Klan. While this link between Griffith's film and the Klan has been widely acknowledged, Tom Rice explores the little-known relationship between the Klan's success and its use of film and media in the interwar years when the image, function, and moral rectitude of the Klan was contested on the national stage. By examining rich archival materials including a series of films produced by the Klan and a wealth of documents, newspaper clippings, and manuals, Rice uncovers the fraught history of the Klan as a local force that manipulated the American film industry to extend its reach across the country. White Robes, Silver Screens highlights the ways in which the Klan used, produced, and protested against film in order to recruit members, generate publicity, and define its role within American society.
Sometimes You Have to Make Your Own History by Latinos beyond Reel is a documentary about how Latinos are marginalized and vilified in the U.S. media,
Available for checkout: DVD PN1995.9 .H47 L38 2012